Writing by the Water

The Contest

The AuthorsFirst Novel and Short Story Contest is held once a year. Anyone is eligible to join - international writers, young writers, etc. - and there is no limit on the number of entries that can be submitted per person.


All manuscripts need to be complete and at least 40,000 words in length for novels and less than 20,000 words for short stories. The pieces also cannot have been published or be in the process of being published.

For more details about the contest, check out the Rules.

If you're interested in previous winners and their books, head to Contest History.

Want to submit your entry? Review the rules and then head to our Entry Form.

Questions? Feel free to reach out via our Contact page.


AuthorsFirst was founded by New York Times bestselling author Lou Aronica, Tony and Pulitzer Award-winning Broadway veteran Mitchell Maxwell, and Aaron Brown, an international bestselling author who publishes under the name Ethan Cross. Authors First offers a wide range of instructional sessions (both print and video) at basic, intermediate, and master levels. It is owned by Studio Digital CT, LLC, a Stamford, CT-based media company. 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • RSS


 Want to stay up to date with new writing tips and contest details? Sign up for the AuthorsFirst newsletter below! 

© 2023 by AuthorsFirst